Sunday, May 5, 2013

Disable Session Restore when you open Firefox after a crash.

Due to unexpected issues such as problems with a website, software errors, or an accidental loss of power, Firefox may unexpectedly close. In these situations, Firefox can restore the pages that you were visiting when it is restarted. Firefox will automatically restore your previous session, the first time you launch it after a crash.

If Firefox crashes a second time, the Restore Session (i.e. "Well, this is embarrassing") page will appear when you next launch Firefox.

  • To restore your previous session, select the windows or tabs you want to restore and click Restore.
  • If Firefox continues to experience errors when windows and tabs are re-opened, you can launch Firefox without restoring these items. Click Start New Session.
When you've set Firefox to show your windows and tabs from last time

You can set Firefox to always show your windows and tabs from your previous session each time you start Firefox. To change your Firefox startup settings, see Configuring session restore, below.

Session Restore may keep you logged in to sites that you were logged into before you closed Firefox. If someone else used your computer after you, they could access your account on these sites. If this is a concern then you should not configure Firefox to open all windows and tabs from your previous session.

You may also wish to disable the Session Restore crash recovery feature which is enabled by default. This will prevent restoring a previous session when Firefox is opened after an unexpected close or software crash:
  • In the Location bar, type about:config and press Enter.
  • The about:config "This might void your warranty!" warning page may appear. Click I'll be careful, I promise!, to continue to the about:config page.
  • In the Search box at the top, type browser.sessionstore.resume_from_crash.
  • In the resulting grid, double-click on browser.sessionstore.resume_from_crash to set it to false.

No comments:

Post a Comment